Make This: Evergreen Wreath

Standard

12-13-13 make this wreath

I now it’s been said by pretty much everyone I’ve run into the past week or so, but I still can’t believe that Christmas is right around the corner. It’s next week! Holy cow! I am happy to report that all my gifts are purchased, but I still have a few to make, and everything still needs to be wrapped up. That’s the easy part, in my opinion: the tricky part is assuring myself that I’ve got the right gifts for everyone in my life.

Still, the biggest wake-up call for me is decorating the house for the holiday. We brought home our tree on the first of December, but didn’t get anything up on it until this past Friday night. I would love to put some lights on the house, but I’ve admitted to myself that it just won’t happen this year. However, I was still determined to bring holiday cheer inside our home. We need decorations around the house to accompany the Christmas music we’re playing every night!

When we picked out our Christmas trees a few weeks ago, my parents took home extra boughs from trees that were trimmed at the bottom. I took home the spare boughs they didn’t use, and after sitting in my garage for a week I decided it was time to make a wreath. I love the smell of fresh pine, especially this time of year, and what better way to bring the outdoors to our home than utilizing what would be discarded as “waste”? 

12-14-13 green boughs

12-14-13 wreath on door 2

That’s how we ended up with a homemade wreath on our main door. It was a fairly simple project, but it took some time to fill it in nicely and get it looking right. I also didn’t have the proper tools (I used duct tape, but really could’ve used some floral wire).

For this project, all you’ll need is a clothes hanger, some evergreen branches, and either duct tape or floral wire (some needle-nose pliers also help, but aren’t necessary. I also added a bow to my wreath, but you can accessorize however you’d like).

12-14-13 wire frame

Unwind the clothes hanger until it is one long wire, then loop it into a circle. Use the pliers  to help twist the ends together securely, or just man-up and use your hands (note: I used pliers). After that, just start staggering branches and taping/wiring them into place around the clothes hanger shape.

12-14-13 wrap it up 12-14-13 1-4 done wreath

12-14-13 half done wreath 12-14-13 3-4 done wreathKeep going all the way around and try to cover any traces of duct tape or wire while you work around the wire. I found it helped to work on the back side of the wire for filling in gaps once I started having the full shape of the wreath in place. Add any accessories you’d like (bows, ribbon, ornaments, letters), and ta da! You’ve got a wreath! I was dang proud of mine.

12-14-13 mo with wreath12-14-14 wreath in doorway 12-14-13 wreath on door I love coming home every night and seeing such a wonderful holiday wreath hung on our door. It makes me feel all Christmas-y and happy whenever I see it. What’s not to love? The other major bonus of all these fresh boughs is that I could take the leftovers and put them up all over the house–the bathroom, behind the kitchen sink, on the bookshelves in the Hub (aka living room)–so our home is filled with a marvelous green color and delicious fresh-tree scent. I suppose I’m a traditionalist when it comes to holiday decor, but the biggest thing for me is decorating with things that are earthy, sincere, and subtle. Our home finally feels ready for the joy of Christmas, and I can’t wait to celebrate next week!

Leave a Reply

